Author of the Month: Tomi Adeyemi

Nigerian-American author, Tomi Adeyemi, releases her debut novel this month, a YA Fantasy that melds West African mythology with themes of social justice and female empowerment. In the land of Orisha, Zélie Adebola has witnessed the near eradication of her people under the order of a ruthless king. A descendant of maji, 17-year-old Zélie discovers a way to restore the magic abilities to others like her. But first, she must outrun Prince Inan, who is determined to finish what his father started. 

The first book in a trilogy perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Leigh Bardugo, Children of Blood and Bone is a refreshing addition to our YA shelves. It is a captivating and powerful portrayal of a world on the brink of change, and the souls who are brave enough to rise up.

Children of Blood and Bone

Children of Blood and Bone

Children of Blood and Bone

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of East Lansing Public Library