Thank you East Lansing High School Marching Band!

A big thank you to the East Lansing High School Marching Band for their birthday wishes.  ELPL loves you!


The Secret History of Twin Peaks

If you are still dreaming of cherry pie and the wind ripping through the Douglas Firs, there is a new book that is just up your alley.  Since ending in 1991 Twin Peaks has continued to puzzle, enchant and disturb each generation that discovers it. When creators David Lynch and Mark Frost announced that a new season would be airing on Showtime in 2016 (after the announcement it was quickly moved to 2017) interest peaked yet again in the tiny fictional Northwest town.  

The Secret History of Twin Peaks by Mark Frost is billed as a novel, but it really is a meticulous description of the many oddities and horrors that have befallen the town.  Take it home and find yourself back in the woods with nobody but the Log Lady to save you.  

A New Way to Dinner

The Food52 folks are back with another cookbook, this one geared towards solving the eternal dilemna, "What's for dinner?"  But truthfully, this book isn't just about dinner.  It attempts to remove the mystery from meal planning by combining seasonal shopping, weekend cooking, and leftover utilization to not only get dinner on the table, but brown bag lunches out the door as well.  The cookbook is beautiful, and heck, since the Food52 folks helped introduce the most amazing tomato sauce on the internet, I'm pretty sure they can accomplish miracles.

Here's a list of all the Food52 cookbooks at ELPL. 

The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins

If you can stomach the violence in Game of Thrones and enjoy reading historical fiction (specifically anything set in Great Britian), The Last Days of Magic is worthy of your time.  The magic in the title is a bit misleading, as this book is not a read-alike for fans of Deborah Harkness' All Souls Trilogy, Lev Grossman's  Magician novels, and certainly not Harry Potter.  Rather, Tompkins book is about the many magical creatures that once roamed the Earth and are now fighting to maintain their existence in the kingdom of Ireland.  This novel also boasts a strong female protagonist so if you are in the mood for a bloody historical epic with girl power, you are in luck.

The Making of Outlander The Series

Outlander fans, you disappoint me!  The Making of Outlander: the Series just dropped today and there are no holds on it!  If you are still experiencing withdrawal symptoms as you wait for Season 3 to air, take this book home and learn how the books by Diana Gabaldon were brought to the small screen.  This book is filled with beautiful photos and enough plaid to resurrect Bonnie Prince Charlie's army.  

Good Clean Fun by Nick Offerman

Do you enjoy meat, wood working and dense facial hair?  If the answer is yes then place a hold on the latest from Nick Offerman, Good Clean Fun.  If you loved Offerman in Parks & Recreation as the indefatigable man's man Ron Swanson then this book is for you.  If you like Good Clean Fun you can also try his earlier book, Gumption:  relighting the torch of freedom with America's gutsiest troublemakers.  

New Friendshop is Open!

We are particularly proud of our new space, and encourage you to check it out at the sale.  It's long been a desire to have a real shop space!  It's our belief that with this new location we will be better able to serve you by displaying our books and other items in a lovely, accessible manner.

Change to My Account Login Page

Starting today, patrons logging into the My Account page of the library catalog will no longer need to fill in their name.  Only barcode and PIN will be required.

Why is the library making this change?  Coming soon, the library will be rolling out a new library catalog and website.  Both of the new sites offer many patron friendly features that will enable you to find new favorite authors and titles and connect with other ELPL patrons.  The change to the current My Account page will facilitate the move to the new catalog and web site.

If you have any questions about the change please email, and thank you for your patience as we work to make your online patron experience engaging and intuitive. 

How This Book Was Made by Mac Barnett

There are certain (okay, several) picture book authors and illustrators whose books I will automatically check out whenever they publish something, and Mac Barnett is definitely one of them. I love so many of his stories (Leo: A Ghost Story and Count the Monkeys, anyone?), so when his newest book, How This Book Was Made, was released, I knew I had to snag it. I did, and as I expected it would be, it was so much fun!

This is a book that’s all about the process of making a picture book – how an author writes, how an editor edits, how an illustrator illustrates, and how all of those things come together to make the books we love. In other hands this might sound like a somewhat dull premise, but this book has Barnett’s goofy and insightful sense of humor all the way through, and Adam Rex’s illustrations match that tone perfectly. There’s plenty of information as well as silliness for little readers as well as grown-ups to love here, and it just might spark an interest in a kiddo who can see themselves writing their own books some day!

Find How This Book Was Made and other works by Mac Barnett here at ELPL.

New App Icon...Same Great eBook Service

Over the next few days the 3M Cloud Library will be releasing an app update, and, completing its brand transition to the Cloud Library.

You'll still have access to the same great eBook service with a fresh new logo design.  If you have any questions about this change/update send an email to

Building Excitement

The time is getting near for the newly renovated East Lansing Public Library (ELPL) to open.  I hope everyone can join us on October 1, 2016 at 12:00 p.m. (noon) for our Grand Re-opening and Ribbon-cutting.  There will be short presentations, family-fun activities, a giant pie from Grand Traverse Pie Company, balloon animals, face painting, library tours and more.  I would love to see the entire community come out to help us celebrate their new library space.

A huge thank you to our patrons and to the East Lansing community for enduring 11 months of construction at the library.  We did our best to keep service interruptions to a minimum, but things were just not the same, and about half the collection was not available during the project.  The ELPL staff and patrons were fantastic and hung in there throughout the hammering and dust.  The staff and I are excited to show you your library.  Thank you to our anonymous donor who made starting this project possible.  There is more to do, but we will take a couple of months to enjoy the “new” East Lansing Public Library.  See you on October 1 at 12:00 p.m. (noon) for the re-opening celebration.

Back to School Reads

It’s hard to believe that summer is over and another school year is starting! Get back into the swing of things (or ready for your very first day) at elementary school by checking out our list of back-to-school picture books and early readers!

And remember that while we’re closed to complete the library renovation, you can still order books and pick them up from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday, and our digital collections are always available at!