Library Board of Trustees Special Meeting Minutes – 4/4/22

April 4, 2022 at 5:00 p.m.
East Lansing Public Library Board of Trustees Meeting
Library Large Meeting Room
950 Abbot Road
East Lansing, MI 48823

1. Call to Order 5:02 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Trustees present: Diane Goddeeris, Amy Zaagman, and Lance Wilkinson. Trustee Polly Synk was absent. Also, in attendance were Friends President Maureen McCabe-Power, Director Kristin Shelley, Assistant Director/Head of Customer Experiences Brice Bush, and Executive Assistant to the Director Shori Teeple. There was one attendee from the public.

3. Opening
3.1 Approval of Current Meeting Agenda
Wilkinson moved
Zaagman seconded
All in favor

4. Communications
4.1 Audience/Public Comment

  • None

5. New Business
5.1 Board appointees

  • An overview of the interview process was shared.
  • Motion to move two names on to City Council to appoint for board positions: Pamela Smith to term of April 5, 2022 through June 30, 2025 to fill board vacancy following Trustee Paul Cervenak's March 16, 2022 resignation and Ameenah Asante to a full term beginning July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2027 following completion of Lance Wilkinson's second term on June 30, 2022.

Goddeeris moved
Zaagman seconded
All in favor

5.2 Closing on April 22 to install electric for HVAC

  • Resolution 15-22 to close the library on Friday April 22 so that electrical components can be installed for HVAC system.

Goddeeris moved
Wilkinson seconded
All in favor

5.3 May Board meeting date

  • Rescheduled meeting date of May 19 stands.

6. Adjournment

Goddeeris adjourned the meeting at 5:07 p.m.

Board of Trustees
Diane Goddeeris, President
Polly Synk, Vice President
Amy Zaagman, Secretary
Lance Wilkinson
Member at Large - Vacant

City Council Liaisons
Lisa Babcock
George Brookover

Staff Liaison
Kristin Shelley