Library Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes 5/19/2022

May 19, 2022 at 4:30 p.m.
East Lansing Public Library Board of Trustees Meeting
Library Large Meeting Room
950 Abbot Road

1. Call to Order 4:31 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Trustees present: Polly Synk, Amy Zaagman, Lance Wilkinson and Pamela Smith. Trustee Goddeeris was absent. Also, in attendance were Friends President Maureen McCabe-Power, Director Kristin Shelley, and Executive Assistant to the Director Shori Teeple. City Councilmember Liaison George Brookover and Assistant Director/Head of Customer Experiences Brice Bush were absent. There was one attendee from the public.

3. Opening
3.1 Approval of April 20, 2022 Meeting Minutes
Wilkinson moved
Zaagman seconded
All in favor

3.2 Approval of Current Meeting Agenda as amended
Synk moved
Wilkinson seconded
All in favor

4. Communications
4.1 Audience/Public Comment

  • None

4.2 Consideration from non-supervisor's union representatives for a standing agenda item on the monthly board meeting agendas.

5. Reports
5.1 City Council Liaison Report:

  • No report was shared.

5.2 Friends of the East Lansing Public Library Report
McCabe-Power Reported:

  • New mailing address for Friends is: P.O. Box 353 East Lansing MI 48826.
  • Bookshop revenues continue to average $2,000 monthly.
  • Friends account remains over $60,000.
  • Board members were invited to attend a Friends Volunteer Tea event on Wednesday June 22 from 2:00 - 4:00 p.m. in the large meeting room.

6. Old Business
6.1 Approval of Board Bylaws
Zaagman moved
Smith seconded
All in favor

7. New Business
7.1 None

8. Library Reports
8.1 Financial Report

  • Fund Balance Report

Shelley Reported:

  • Printed financial and fund balance reports were shared.

8.2 Director's Report

  • A written report was shared.

8.3 President's Report

  • None

9.  Announcements
9.1 Library will be at the East Lansing Art Festival this weekend.
9.2 Library on the Go summer schedule at parks and Albert El Fresco space this summer was shared
9.3 Summer Reading Program registration begins next week. 

10. Adjournment
Synk adjourned the meeting at 4:56 p.m.

Board of Trustees
Diane Goddeeris, President
Polly Synk, Vice President
Amy Zaagman, Secretary
Lance Wilkinson
Pamela Smith

City Council Liaisons
Lisa Babcock
George Brookover

Staff Liaison
Kristin Shelley