Library Board of Trustees Special Meeting Minutes – December 16, 2020

December 16 at 4:30pm
East Lansing Public Library Board of Trustees Special Meeting

Audio Recording of Meeting, opens a new window (M4A format)

1) Call to Order 4:33 pm

2) Roll Call

Trustees present were Lance Wilkinson (location: Savannah, Georgia in Chatham County), Diane Goddeeris (location: East Lansing, Michigan in Ingham County), Paul Cervenak (location: East Lansing, Michigan in Ingham County), Polly Synk (location: East Lansing, Michigan in Ingham County), and Amy Zaagman (location: East Lansing, Michigan in Ingham County). Also, in attendance were City Council Liaison Jessy Gregg, Friends President Maureen McCabe-Power, Director Kristin Shelley, Assistant Director/Head of Customer Experiences Brice Bush, and Executive Assistant to the Director Shori Teeple.

3) Opening
A) Approval of November 18, 2020 Meeting Minutes
Cervenak moved.
Zaagman seconded.
All in favor.

B) Approval of Current Meeting Agenda
Zaagman moved.
Synk seconded.
All in favor.

4) Communications
A) Audience/Public comment

  • None

5) Reports

A) City Council Liaison Report
Gregg reported:

  • Revisions made to Disorderly Conduct policy.

    Successful regional cooperation for TechSmith to relocate headquarters with 250 employees to East Lansing.

B) Friends of the East Lansing Public Library Report
McCabe-Power reported:

  • Matching fundraiser resulted in $16,000 total raised.

    Names of all donors will be published.

6) Old Business
A) Reopening - Discussion

  • The Board supported following the City of East Lansing's closure timeline.

B) Facility - Updates

  • Facility updates were discussed including roof, solar panels, sidewalks, HVAC and electrical system. 

7) New Business
A) None

8) Library Reports
A) Financial Report
Shelley reported:

  • A printed financial report was shared

B) Director's Report

  • A written report was shared.

C) President's Report

  • No report was shared.

9) Announcements

10) Executive Session: Director's Performance Appraisal
Zaagman moved.
Goddeeris seconded.
All in favor.

Entered Executive Session at 5:05pm
Ended Executive Session at 5:27pm

11) Adjournment

Goddeeris moved.
Synk seconded.
All in favor.
Wilkinson adjourned the meeting at 5:29pm.