Magic for Adults?

If you can stomach the violence in Game of Thrones and enjoy reading historical fiction (specifically anything set in Great Britian), The Last Days of Magic is worthy of your time.  The magic in the title is a bit misleading, as this book is not a read-alike for fans of Deborah Harkness' All Souls Trilogy, Lev Grossman's  Magician novels, and certainly not Harry Potter.  Rather, Tompkins book is about the many magical creatures that once roamed the Earth and are now fighting to survive in the kingdom of Ireland.  This novel also boasts a strong female protagonist so if you are in the mood for a bloody historical epic with girl power, you are in luck.

The Last Days of Magic

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of East Lansing Public Library