Book groups

ELPL offers book groups for all ages and reading preferences.

Books on Tap - February 2015

6:30, February 10th - meet at Jimmy's Pub to discuss 10:04 by Ben Lerner.

"In the last year, the narrator of 10:04 has enjoyed unlikely literary success, has been diagnosed with a potentially fatal medical condition, and has been asked by his best friend to help her conceive a child. In a New York of increasingly frequent superstorms and social unrest, he must reckon with his own mortality and the prospect of fatherhood in a city that might soon be underwater.
A writer whose work Jonathan Franzen has called 'hilarious...cracklingly intelligent...and original in every sentence,' Lerner captures what it’s like to be alive now, during the twilight of an empire, when the difficulty of imagining a future is changing our relationship to both the present and the past."

Review from Goodreads.

Books on Tap - January Follow Up

Welcome to 2015 Books on Tap! One thing that came to light in our meeting is that our group is predominately composed of introverts - completely skewing from the statistics Susan Cain put forth in Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking.

Out of this World Book Club - February 2014

East Lansing Public Library - Tutor/Group Study Room

February's title is Soon I Will Be Invincible by Austin Grossman.

Upcoming titles for Out Of This World:

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

Better Living Book Club - March 2015

East Lansing Public Library - Meeting Room

March's title is Life is So Good by George Dawson and Richard Glaubman will be discussed in March.   

Upcoming titles for the Better Living Book Club:

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

Books on Tap - January 2015

We will start out 2015 reading Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Susan Cain. Come to Jimmy's on January 13 at 6:30pm to discuss.

"At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking, reading to partying; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over brainstorming in teams. Although they are often labeled 'quiet,' it is to introverts that we owe many of the great contributions to society--from van Gogh’s sunflowers to the invention of the personal computer.

Books on Tap - December Follow Up

What fun we had last night! It was really nice to hear about what people had been reading outside of book group. Not surprisingly, the books brought in for reviews were just as varied and interesting as the people who selected them! 

The white elephant book exchange was also a smashing success! So much so, that we had discussions of having another one in the summer! Check back in for details on that.

Click here to see a list of the books brought in by our group so that you have a list readily available for the holiday season.

In January 2015, we will read Quiet: the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Susan Cain.

Out of This World Book Club - January 2015

East Lansing Public Library - Tutor/Group Study Room

January's title is Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie.

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

Books on Tap - December 2014

Come to Jimmy's on December 9th at 6:30pm when we will have our final meetin of 2014! For this month, there is no official book to read. Instead, I'm asking you to bring two books to our meeting.

The first book will be one that you have read outside of Books on Tap and would like to share with the group. Be prepared to give a 2-3 minute blurb on the book - a little teaser to get people interested and possibly add to their own reading lists.

The second book will be put into a white elephant book exchange. Bring it already wrapped and we'll do a swap! It can be a book you love, a book you hate, something that will make people laugh or cringe. Nothing is off limits!

No matter what, it will be a fun night of wrapping up 2014 for Books on Tap!

Books on Tap - November Follow Up

Thank you to those who braved the cold to come discuss One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper! Most of our conversation focused on the characters and whether or not we agreed with their actions. People fell on both sides of the fence, trying to find the redeeming qualities in the main character, Silver, who was choosing to die and other people who were coming to terms with their own flaws. While the overall consensus was that no one appreciated the cliff-hanger ending, that led to a great discussion about what we thought happened afterwards. Readers seemed to appreciate the input of Silver's friends and family and their opinions of how he was choosing to deal with what might remain of his life.

For December we are doing a wrap up session and a holiday book exchange. Keep an eye out for a post on the details of this event.

Out of this World Book Club - November 2014

East Lansing Public Library - Tutor/Group Study Room

November's title is Another Fine Myth by Robert Aspirin.  The group will not be meeting in December. 

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

Books on Tap - October 2014

Come to Jimmy's on October 14th at 6:30 pm when we dive into the world of science fiction with our discussion of The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood.

**Also, remember to bring your summary of a David Sedaris book so that you can be entered to win tickets to his speaking engagement at the Wharton Center on October 26th.**

"Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable. Offred can remember the years before, when she lived and made love with her husband, Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now..."

Review from Goodreads.

Books on Tap - August Follow Up

Reading a book about travel inspires a great conversation! Last night we discussed Tales of a Female Nomad: Living at Large in the World by Rita Golden Gelman and we participated in a discussion with many different themes and insights. People shared their experiences travelling - both solo trips and group outings - and we reflected on what impact one person can have on a community. Overall, the group enjoyed the book, the descriptions of the people she encountered, and the idea of being able to just pick up and go!

Next month will be a little different - there are options for what you choose to read! To support the One Book One Community program we will be reading March: Book One by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell and/or The Grace of Silence by Michele Norris.

Books on Tap - July Follow Up

Last night saw some new faces as we gathered to discuss Let's Pretend This Never Happened: a Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson. Overall, the group enjoyed the book - there were many reports of laughing to the point of tears. While not every story included in the book was believed to be fully true, there were many points that were relatable. Being that the stories in the book were all over the place, it is only to be expected that the discussion covered a wide range of topics: family relations, social media, etiquette, and social boundaries were just a few of the topics covered. As a wider conversation, we also discussed the rise of the blogging culture and discussed other books that have been published by bloggers. If you would like to continue following Jenny Lawson, you can follow her blog called The Bloggess.

Please join us in August when we will discuss Tales of a Female Nomad: Living at Large in the World by Rita Golden Gelman.

Books on Tap - July 2014

Join us July 8, 2014 at 6:30 pm when we will discuss our summer fun read, Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by The Bloggess Jenny Lawson.

"For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text."

Review from Goodreads.

Books on Tap - June 2014

Join us June 10, 2014 at 6:30 pm when we jump into the world of graphic novels with Alison Bechdel's memoir, Fun Home.

"A fresh and brilliantly told memoir from a cult favorite comic artist, marked by gothic twists, a family funeral home, sexual angst, and great books.

This breakout book by Alison Bechdel is a darkly funny family tale, pitch-perfectly illustrated with Bechdel's sweetly gothic drawings. Like Marjane Satrapi's Persepolis, it's a story exhilaratingly suited to graphic memoir form.

Meet Alison's father, a historic preservation expert and obsessive restorer of the family's Victorian home, a third-generation funeral home director, a high school English teacher, an icily distant parent, and a closeted homosexual who, as it turns out, is involved with his male students and a family babysitter. Through narrative that is alternately heartbreaking and fiercely funny, we are drawn into a daughter's complex yearning for her father. And yet, apart from assigned stints dusting caskets at the family-owned "fun home," as Alison and her brothers call it, the relationship achieves its most intimate expression through the shared code of books.

When Alison comes out as homosexual herself in late adolescense, the denouement is swift, graphic — and redemptive."

Review from Goodreads.

Pages